I’m 30 now and my life didn’t end

20140801-104006.jpg
The infamous and oftentimes dreaded 30th birthday. For women it seems to be the end of youth and the beginning of the aging process…I don’t agree. Last week, I reached a milestone. As I celebrated my 30th birthday with friends and family, I began to reflect on what this new phase in life really meant to me.
So you turn a year older and suddenly your life changes, really? I don’t think it works that way; or anything does for that matter. Who I am today and who I aspire to be is a culmination of experiences, mistakes and lessons learned. My life is measured by growth and is not defined by age. I’m no less energetic or youthful at 30 than I was at 29. Changing perspectives and priorities, gaining wisdom, purpose and focus are all characteristics of growth.

“Anything that isn’t growing is dead.”

The growing process is a gradual one. Not everyone has the same speed of progress or the desire to. Turning 30 is really no different than turning any other age, unless you want it to be. For me, my focus is clearer, determination intensified, and priorities in place; not simply because I’m 30 but because being driven by purpose demands such. With this perspective, I can let go of any emotional attachments and superficial apprehensiveness in regards to growing older. It’s a blessing each year to see myself evolve into who I was created to be. Each of us are full of potential and purpose. The growing process allows us to realize our potential and use it to fulfill our purpose. On your next birthday, before drowning in your sorrows or blowing out the candles, ask yourself “what new potential have I now realized within me” and then, go live out the answer.

20140801-113031.jpg

2 thoughts on “I’m 30 now and my life didn’t end

  1. ‘On your next birthday, before drowning in your sorrows or blowing out the candles, ask yourself “what new potential have I now realized within me” and then, go live out the answer.’

    Excellent advice – thanks!

Leave a Reply

